Frequently Asked Questions
Q. I have been in an accident and I am injured. How soon do I have to file a lawsuit?
A. In the State of New Jersey, a claimant has two years in which to file a lawsuit for personal injuries. However, it is recommended a bodily injury claim be made as soon as practicable. In some instances a claimant can have five, ten, fifteen or more years to file a law suit. Therefore, if you have been injured presently, or in the past, you should contact CORRADINO LAW OFFICES immediately.
Q. Can I bring a claim against the person or entity that injured me?
A. Yes, provided the other party is more than 50 percent at fault. New Jersey follows a “comparative negligence standard”, meaning if the injured party is less at fault than the person or party that injured them, the injured party may recover for bodily injuries.
Q. How will I fix my car?
A. In A. First, confirm whether you purchased the collision provision of your auto policy. If yes, take your car to an auto body shop, or have your claim representative recommend one. It is very important to have a representative from your insurance company take pictures of your car as soon as possible. Most auto body shops cannot commence work until they receive authorization from the insurance company to commence work.
Q. Who will pay my medical bills?
A. Included in all automobile policies is a Personal Injury Protection (PIP) provision that covers the payment of medical bills for injuries sustained in auto accidents. A PIP application form must be completed and returned to your insurance company before medical bills can be paid. CORRADINO LAW OFFICES, LLC will assist you with filling out the paperwork.
Q. What choices do I have when I purchase or renew my auto insurance policy?
A. You are required to choose either a standard policy or basic policy.
Q. What is the basic policy?
A. The basic policy is not a safe choice and should not be chosen. Basic policy provides minimal protection and leaves you unprotected in several important areas:
- A basic policy provides you with only $5,000 of property damage liability if someone makes a claim against you.
- A basic policy gives you only $15,000 of medical expense benefits ($250,000 for brain or spinal cord injury), if you or a resident family member is injured.
- The basic policy does not cover you if you injure someone else. However you may choose coverage in the amount of $10,000 for injuries to one or more persons in the same accident if someone makes a claim against you.
- The basic policy does not provide any uninsured motorist coverage to protect you or your family if a careless driver is uninsured or insured under a Basic Policy with no bodily injury liability coverage.
CORRADINO LAW OFFICES DOES NOT RECOMMEND THE BASIC POLICY BECAUSE IT IS NOT A SAFE CHOICE TO PROTECT YOU OR YOUR FAMILY MEMBERS.
Q. What is the standard policy?
A. The standard policy is the best choice. The standard policy provides liability coverage if someone makes a claim against you with minimum limits of bodily injury of $15,000 per person, and $30,000 per accident, and $5,000 for property damages. In addition it provides uninsured motorist coverage with minimum limits of $15,000 per person, $30,000 per accident, if you or a resident family member is injured by a person who is uninsured or has no bodily injury liability coverage.
THE STANDARD POLICY PROVIDES THE BEST INSURANCE COVERAGE TO PROTECT YOUR ASSETS IF YOU ARE SUED AND PROVIDES COMPENSATION TO YOU AND YOUR FAMILY IF YOU ARE INJURED.
Q. Does the standard policy provide coverage for medical expenses?
A. Yes, the standard policy provides medical expense benefits coverage which includes medical expenses up to $250,000 per person, per accident. You may elect to purchase less coverage in the amounts of 15, 50, 75 or 150 thousand; however, if you do you may not have enough insurance to obtain all of the medical treatment you need or to pay for all of your medical bills.
CORRADINO LAW OFFICES RECOMMENDS THAT $250,000 OF PIP MEDICAL EXPENSE COVERAGE BE PURCHASED.